URBAN FANTASY BOOK REVIEW – OWL AND THE JAPANESE CIRCUS BY KRISTI CHARISH

owl and the japanese circus
Book Description
Publication Date: January 13, 2015
Fans of Kim Harrison, Jim Butcher, and Linda Hamilton will flock to the kick-ass world of Owl, a modern-day “Indiana Jane” who reluctantly navigates the hidden supernatural world.

Ex-archaeology grad student turned international antiquities thief, Alix—better known now as Owl—has one rule. No supernatural jobs. Ever. Until she crosses paths with Mr. Kurosawa, a red dragon who owns and runs the Japanese Circus Casino in Las Vegas. He insists Owl retrieve an artifact stolen three thousand years ago, and makes her an offer she can’t refuse: he’ll get rid of a pack of vampires that want her dead. A dragon is about the only entity on the planet that can deliver on Owl’s vampire problem – and let’s face it, dragons are known to eat the odd thief.

Owl retraces the steps of Mr. Kurosawa’s ancient thief from Japan to Bali with the help of her best friend, Nadya, and an attractive mercenary. As it turns out though, finding the scroll is the least of her worries. When she figures out one of Mr. Kurosawa’s trusted advisors is orchestrating a plan to use a weapon powerful enough to wipe out a city, things go to hell in a hand basket fast…and Owl has to pick sides.

BOOK DESCRIPTION COURTESY OF AMAZON

I was given a copy of this book by Netgalley for an honest review.

OWL AND THE JAPANESE CIRCUS is a cross between Indiana Jones, the Librarian, Buffy the Vampire Slayer. It is a wild ride of a read, with well-developed characters and a great story line.  Alix (aka. Owl) is a disgraced archaeologist that now is a freelancer who recovers artifacts for her clients. One thing that she tries to do is not to take any jobs  from any supernaturals. Oh, and she is on the run from the Paris vampires. When she is summoned to meet Mr. Kurosawa, her last client. She delivered everything that he wanted and asked for. When she meets him, she finds out that she has been working with a supernatural all along. Mr. Kurosawa is a red dragon, and she is still working for him. What she did nit know is that the egg that she delivered to him was supposed to be housing a scroll. If it falls into the wrong hands would be very bad for everyone. This book will give you a few belly laughs and Alix is a kick-ass heroine. I want to be like her. I give OWL AND THE JAPANESE CIRCUS  5/5 stars.

holiday gift guide amazon

I will always be Immortally Yours! Irresistible chemistry and thrilling suspense combine in this electrifying
Jane Yellowrock used to hunt vampires, but now she must fight--and win--beside them. As Enforcer
Half-human, half-vampire Dorina Basarab is back--and facing her biggest challenge yet in the next urban
In her bestselling Alpha and Omega series, Patricia Briggs "spins tales of werewolves, coyote shifters,
Are you ready for a Shadow Hunt? For years now, Scarlett Bernard has counted on

1 Comment

Filed under BOOKS

One Response to URBAN FANTASY BOOK REVIEW – OWL AND THE JAPANESE CIRCUS BY KRISTI CHARISH

  1. I never would have found this on my own, and now …well, HA! I wonder if I could take my books to my grave, float somewhere in the aether reading for the rest of eternity? <3