Tag Archives: URBAN FANTASY

OWL AND THE TIGER THIEVES by Kristi Charish

Owl and the Tiger Thieves cover

In this fourth Owl novel, Kristi Charish (The Voodoo Killings) melds sparkling fantasy with the grit of urban underbelly—with a detour through the world’s most spectacular cities. This is perfect for fans of Kim Harrison, Jim Butcher, Jennifer Estep, Jenn Bennett, and fantasy lovers everywhere.

Through no fault of her own, Alix has found herself essential to the fate of the world as we know it. She didn’t mean for this to happen—she was quite happy being merely the notorious antiquities thief, and ex-archeologist, known as Owl.

However, years ago, Owl reluctantly entered the secret world of the supernatural. Her goals: complete one job, escape one bounty on her head, continue her thieving in peace.

Fast forward to today. Now, she has become a key player in a brutal paranormal civil war that is rapidly getting out of hand. The leader of one of these factions—a lethal opponent called the Electric Samurai—grows more powerful by the second. To stop him, Owl sets out to find the long-lost, legendary group known as the Tiger Thieves.

But will it be too little too late? One thing Owl misses about “normal” archaeology: there are few emergencies with thousand-year-old relics.

BOOK DESCRIPTION COURTESY OF AMAZON

I was given this book by Netgalley for an honest review.

This book is Awesome!! I love Owl and the other characters in this book and series. This series is a fresh take on the Indiana Jones story with a supernatural element thrown in. Owl is on a mission to find something or just about anything to save her boyfriend Rynn from the Electric Samurai Armour.  She hunting the medallions of the Tiger Thieves so she can locate them. In her quest she stumbles across Da Vinci and one of his devices. You are probably wondering what this device does? Well, it kills supernaturals and the Electric Samurai wants it. Now she has supernaturals coming after her for the device and things are going down hill fast. This book has a twist at the end that I did not see coming! I recommend this book and series to everyone. I give Owl and the Tiger Thieves (The Owl Series) 5/ 5 stars.

 

Leave a Comment

Filed under BOOKS

LAKE SILENCE -REVIEW

lake silence cover
In this thrilling and suspenseful fantasy set in the world of the New York Times bestselling Others series, an inn owner and her shape-shifting lodger find themselves enmeshed in danger and dark secrets.

Human laws do not apply in the territory controlled by the Others–vampires, shape-shifters, and even deadlier paranormal beings. And this is a fact that humans should never, ever forget….

After her divorce, Vicki DeVine took over a rustic resort near Lake Silence, in a human town that is not human controlled. Towns such as Vicki’s don’t have any distance from the Others, the dominant predators who rule most of the land and all of the water throughout the world. And when a place has no boundaries, you never really know what is out there watching you.

Vicki was hoping to find a new career and a new life. But when her lodger, Aggie Crowe–one of the shape-shifting Others–discovers a murdered man, Vicki finds trouble instead. The detectives want to pin the death on her, despite the evidence that nothing human could have killed the victim. As Vicki and her friends search for answers, ancient forces are roused by the disturbance in their domain. They have rules that must not be broken–and all the destructive powers of nature at their command.

BOOK COVER COURTESY OF AMAZON

I was given a copy of this book by Netgalley for an honest review.

Vicki has settled in the Territory in a rustic resort she was awarded as a part of her divorce settlement. The resort has been in her ex-husbands family for generations. There are specific instructions that must be heeded to own it. You can not build any new structures. Aggie Crow is one of her lodgers. She is there to learn how to interact with humans. When a dead body is found on her property, she has to report it to the authorities. Things just get worse when her ex-husband shows up to dispute her claim on the property. More bodies or pieces of bodies show up and the Elders show up. This is a great book to the Others series. We have new characters and story arc to love. I recommend this book and series to everyone. I give Lake Silence (World of the Others, The) 5/5 stars.

 

Leave a Comment

Filed under BOOKS

BURN BRIGHT – REVIEW

burn bright cover
In her bestselling Alpha and Omega series, Patricia Briggs “spins tales of werewolves, coyote shifters, and magic and, my, does she do it well” (USATODAY.com). Now mated werewolves Charles Cornick and Anna Latham face a threat like no other–one that lurks too close to home…

They are the wild and the broken. The werewolves too damaged to live safely among their own kind. For their own good, they have been exiled to the outskirts of Aspen Creek, Montana. Close enough to the Marrok’s pack to have its support; far enough away to not cause any harm.

With their Alpha out of the country, Charles and Anna are on call when an SOS comes in from the fae mate of one such wildling. Heading into the mountainous wilderness, they interrupt the abduction of the wolf–but can’t stop blood from being shed. Now Charles and Anna must use their skills–his as enforcer, hers as peacemaker–to track down the attackers, reopening a painful chapter in the past that springs from the darkest magic of the witchborn…

BOOK DESCRIPTION COURTESY OF AMAZON

I was given a copy of this book by Netgalley for an honest review.

I love Charles and Anna!! When the wildings are in trouble, Anna and Charles must find out who is hunting them. The wildings are wolves who are too dangerous or damaged to be with the Marrock pack. There is one willing to betray the pack! This book will captivate you and keep you reading until the very end.  I could not put this book down. I always love the world building and character interactions. I recommend this book and series to everyone! I give Burn Bright (Alpha and Omega) 5/5 stars.

Comments Off on BURN BRIGHT – REVIEW

Filed under BOOKS

HOT AND BADGERED BY SHELLY LAURENSTON

hot and badgered cover

Are you ready to be Hot and Badgered?

It’s not every day that a beautiful naked woman falls out of the sky and lands face-first on grizzly shifter Berg Dunn’s hotel balcony. Definitely they don’t usually hop up and demand his best gun. Berg gives the lady a grizzly-sized t-shirt and his cell phone, too, just on style points. And then she’s gone, taking his XXXL heart with her. By the time he figures out she’s a honey badger shifter, it’s too late.

Honey badgers are survivors. Brutal, vicious, ill-tempered survivors. Or maybe Charlie Taylor-MacKilligan is just pissed that her useless father is trying to get them all killed again, and won’t even tell her how. Protecting her little sisters has always been her job, and she’s not about to let some pesky giant grizzly protection specialist with a network of every shifter in Manhattan get in her way. Wait. He’s trying to help? Why would he want to do that? He’s cute enough that she just might let him tag along—that is, if he can keep up . . .

BOOK DESCRIPTION COURTESY OF AMAZON

I was given a copy of this book by Netgalley for an honest review.

WOOOHOOO!!!! Another great read. Charlie watches out for her two sister Max and Stevie.  They are all different in their own way. Charlie is the peacekeeper and watches out for the other two. Max is the enforcer. She likes to fight, and boy will she fight to the end. Stevie is the genius with mental disorders. Oh, and she is afraid of bears, but if her family really needs her, she will go off her meds to turn into…… Well, I will just let you find out. Hehe!! When her Dad  steals 1 million pounds, people are coming after the sisters to get it back. Charlie meets Berg when she climbs into a window to his room to get away from the goons in Italy. They don’t meet again until she gets state side. The sisters end up taking sanctuary in Berg’s neighborhood.  Which by the way is full of bears. Oh, poor, poor Stevie! Let the fun and chaos begin!! I think my new favorite book in the series is this one for now. I recommend this book and series to everyone. Definitely go out and get it! I give Hot and Badgered (The Honey Badgers) 5/5 stars.

 

Comments Off on HOT AND BADGERED BY SHELLY LAURENSTON

Filed under BOOKS

SHADOW HUNT – REVIEW

shadow hunt coverAre you ready for a Shadow Hunt?

For years now, Scarlett Bernard has counted on two things: her ability to nullify magic, and Shadow, the bargest who guards Scarlett with her life. But after a sudden revelation turns Scarlett’s world upside down, she panics and leaves town without warning, leaving Shadow with her partner, Jesse. In the chaos that follows, the bargest is stolen—and Jesse nearly dies from a brutal psychic assault.

It seems that an old enemy has returned for revenge…and the attack on Shadow was only the beginning. As Scarlett races home to find the bargest and rescue her friends, she is dragged deeper into a terrifying legend that has somehow found its way to present-day Los Angeles.

Now she will have to recruit every possible ally for a battle that will test her null ability to the limit. Scarlett has been in over her head before, but now she risks losing everything…and she’s never had more to lose.

BOOK DESCRIPTION COURTESY OF AMAZON

I was given a copy of this book by Netgalley for an honest review.

Another great novel by Melissa F. Olsen! I love the character of Scarlett Bernard!  Scarlett needs to go back to Las Vegas to get an answer to a problem. While she is away Jesse is watching Shadow. Shadow is then kidnapped and Jesse is put in a deep sleep. Now Scarlett has to find Shadow and get Shadow back any way possible. I love the way that Scarlett and Shadow interact with each other. I love this series! I can’t wait to see what is coming next. I recommend this series to everyone. I give Shadow Hunt (Disrupted Magic) 5/5 stars.

 

Comments Off on SHADOW HUNT – REVIEW

Filed under BOOKS