Tag Archives: URBAN FANTASY

THE END OF MAGIC BY AMBER BENSON

end of magic cover
In the third in the “spellbinding” (Seanan McGuire) series from the author of the Calliope Reaper-Jones novels, magic has been loosed upon the world—and the consequences could destroy all of humanity, magical and non-magical alike…

Lyse MacAllister used to be like everyone else—blissfully ignorant of magic, of the dire battles being fought in shadows and secrecy. But that was before her great-aunt Eleanora died, leaving her in control of the Echo Park coven; before she found herself in the middle of the witches’ clash with the anti-magic zealots known as The Flood; before her blood sisters lost their faith in her.

As The Flood begins turning humans across the globe against the witches, Lyse must find a way to regain the trust of her former magical family and once again unify them. Because the final battle between good and evil is looming—and if the witches don’t stand together, all of humankind could be lost…

From the Trade Paperback edition.

BOOK DESCRIPTION COURTESY OF AMAZON

I was given a copy of this book by Netgalley for an honest review.

The End of Magic (An Echo Park Coven Novel) is a wild ride? The characters and story line are well-developed. Lyse and the rest of the coven are trying to restore magic, but a group called the Flood, wants to get ride of witches for good. They have captured the coven and have them in there lab. They must escape and try to stop The Flood. This book will have you wanting more! I really liked this book and series. The pace of the book was steady. I recommend this book to everyone. I give THE END OF MAGIC 5/5 STARS.

Leave a Comment

Filed under BOOKS

RIDE THE STORM BY KAREN CHANCE

ride the storm cover
Cassie Palmer can see the future, talk to ghosts, and travel through time—but nothing’s prepared her for this.

Ever since being stuck with the job of pythia, the chief seer of the supernatural world, Cassie Palmer has been playing catch up. Catch up to the lifetime’s worth of training she missed being raised by a psychotic vampire instead of at the fabled pythian court. Catch up to the powerful, and sometimes seductive, forces trying to mold her to their will. It’s been a trial by fire that has left her more than a little burned.

But now she realizes that all that was the just the warm up for the real race. Ancient forces that once terrorized the world are trying to return, and Cassie is the only one who can stop them…

BOOK DESCRIPTION COURTESY OF AMAZON

I was given a copy of this book by Netgalley for an honest review.

Ride the Storm (Cassie Palmer) a wild ride! The characters and story line are well-developed. Cassie is trying to save Pritkin, and prevent a God from re-entering our world. She has to prevent Pritkin from being erased from existence. I love the humor in this series. Cassie can never catch a break, and her plans always has a wrench thrown into it and everything goes wrong.I can’t wait to see what is in store for her next. I love this series and recommend it to everyone. I give RIDE THE STORM 5/5 STARS.

Leave a Comment

Filed under BOOKS

BRING THE HEAT – REVIEW

bring the heat cover

“Can you stand the Heat?”

HE SAYS . . .

I, Aidan the Divine, am, well divine. My name was given to me by the Dragon Queen herself! I’m a delight! Cheerful. Charming. And a mighty warrior who is extremely handsome with a very large and well-hidden hoard of gold. I am also royal born, despite the fact that most in my family are horrendous beings that don’t deserve to live. And yet, Branwen the Awful—a low-born, no less—either tells me to shut up or, worse, ignores me completely.

SHE SAYS . . .

I’ll admit, I ignore Aidan the Divine because it annoys him. A lot. But, we have so much to do right now, I can’t worry about why he keeps staring at me, or why he always sits so close, or why he keeps looking at me like he’s thinking about kissing me. We have our nations to save and no time for such bloody foolishness . . . no matter how good Aidan looks or how long his spiked tail is. Because if we’re going to win this war before it destroys everything we love, we’ll have to face our enemies together, side by side and without distractions. But if we make it out alive, who knows what the future will hold . . .

“A hot-hot series.” —Library Journal

“This potent story mix is wacky and fun-filled, with plenty of humor and blood-thirsty action.” —RT Book Reviews on Feel the Burn

“A chest thumping, mead-hall rocking, enemy slaying brawl of a good book.” —All Things Urban Fantasy on The Dragon Who Loved Me

BOOK DESCRIPTION COURTESY OF AMAZON

I was given a copy of this book Netgalley for an honest review.

Bring the Heat (Dragon Kin) is SCORCHING HOT! Ancient mountains have been turned to rubble and Annwyl is missing. Aiden and Branwen will follow Keita on a mission. During this time Branwen an Aiden will fall closer together and in bed together. What Branwen doesn’t know is Aiden has fallen for her. One of my favorite moments in the book was when Caswyn at her horse that was dying. Here he is just chomping down on the horse with no idea he was doing anything wrong. Aiden is trying to hold Branwen back from killing Caswyn. He just looks at them, Caswyn that is, and just tells them that the horse was already dying and he was hungry. All Branwen wants to do is kill him for eating her favorite horse. There is many more bust out laughing moments throughout the book. I love all the books in this series, and recommend them to everyone. Branwen and Aiden are just right for each other! They help to balance each other out. I give BRING THE HEAT 5/5 STARS.

Leave a Comment

Filed under BOOKS

REVIEW – OWL AND THE ELECTRIC SAMURAI BY KRISTI CHARISH

owl and the electric samurai
The third exciting novel starring the unforgettable antiquities thief Owl—a modern-day “Indiana Jane” who reluctantly navigates the hidden supernatural world. From the pen of rising urban fantasy star Kristi Charish (Owl and the Japanese Circus) and for fans of Kim Harrison, Jim Butcher, Jennifer Estep, Jenn Bennett, and fantasy lovers everywhere.

The International Archaeology Association (IAA) is responsible for keeping all things supernatural under wraps. They’re also responsible for ruining the promising archaeology career of Alix Hiboux, better known as Owl.

Needless to say, Owl’s still a little sore about that.

Just to keep Owl’s life lively, the IAA has opened a bounty on the two designers of World Quest, the online RPG that is much, much more than it seems. Owl needs to locate the notorious gaming duo before the other mercenaries do. But finding the gamers won’t be easy since every clue points to them hiding out in the legendary lost city of Shangri-La. Not to mention that the last time Owl and the game designers spoke, their conversation didn’t exactly end on the best note…

Meanwhile, undercurrents of supernatural politics are running amok in Tokyo, dragging Owl and her friends into a deadly game of wits with an opponent who calls himself the Electric Samurai. The cost of losing? All-out civil war between two powerful supernatural factions.

All in all, just another great day on the job.

BOOK DESCRIPTION COURTESY OF AMAZON

I was given a copy of this book by Netgalley for an honest review.

Owl and the Electric Samurai (The Owl Series) is a wild read! I love these characters and the cross between urban fantasy and Indiana Jones. The characters and storyline are very well-developed. Owl is employed by a Dragon in Vegas to find magical artifacts. Owl loves to screw with the IAA (International Archeology Assoctiation) and does everything in her power to do it. She usually uses an RPG game named World Quest to help her located items. The creators of this game have gone missing and is wanted by the IAA. Owl is trying to find them before the IAA. She also is sent to find magical armor the the dragon. All the clues point to it being in Shangri-La. Now she has different paranormals wanting the armor  and the creators of the game. Who will get to them first? I have fell in love with this series!! I also recommend this book and series to everyone. I give OWL AND THE ELECTRIC SAMURAI 5/5 STARS.

Comments Off on REVIEW – OWL AND THE ELECTRIC SAMURAI BY KRISTI CHARISH

Filed under BOOKS

SLOUCH WITCH – BLITZ

slouch witch banner

slouch witch cover
Urban Fantasy
Date Published:  June 8, 2017
 photo add-to-goodreads-button_zpsc7b3c634.png
Hard Work Will Pay Off Later. Laziness Pays Off Now.
Let’s get one thing straight – Ivy Wilde is not a heroine. In fact, she’s probably the last witch in the world who you’d call if you needed a magical helping hand. If it were down to Ivy, she’d spend all day every day on her sofa where she could watch TV, munch junk food and talk to her feline familiar to her heart’s content.
However, when a bureaucratic disaster ends up with Ivy as the victim of a case of mistaken identity, she’s yanked very unwillingly into Arcane Branch, the investigative department of the Hallowed Order of Magical Enlightenment. Her problems are quadrupled when a valuable object is stolen right from under the Order’s noses. It doesn’t exactly help that she’s been magically bound to Adeptus Exemptus Raphael Winter. He might have piercing sapphire eyes and a body which a cover model would be proud of but, as far as Ivy’s concerned, he’s a walking advertisement for the joyless perils of too much witch-work. And if he makes her go to the gym again, she’s definitely going to turn him into a frog.
About the Author

After teaching English literature in the UK, Japan and Malaysia, Helen Harper left behind the world of education following the worldwide success of her Blood Destiny series of books. She is a professional member of the Alliance of Independent Authors and writes full time, thanking her lucky stars every day that’s she lucky enough to do so!
Helen has always been a book lover, devouring science fiction and fantasy tales when she was a child growing up in Scotland.
She currently lives in Devon in the UK with far too many cats – not to mention the dragons, fairies, demons, wizards and vampires that seem to keep appearing from nowhere.
Contact Links
Purchase Links
 photo readingaddictionbutton_zps58fd99d6.png

Comments Off on SLOUCH WITCH – BLITZ

Filed under BOOKS