Tag Archives: URBAN FANTASY

REVIEW – OWL AND THE ELECTRIC SAMURAI BY KRISTI CHARISH

owl and the electric samurai
The third exciting novel starring the unforgettable antiquities thief Owl—a modern-day “Indiana Jane” who reluctantly navigates the hidden supernatural world. From the pen of rising urban fantasy star Kristi Charish (Owl and the Japanese Circus) and for fans of Kim Harrison, Jim Butcher, Jennifer Estep, Jenn Bennett, and fantasy lovers everywhere.

The International Archaeology Association (IAA) is responsible for keeping all things supernatural under wraps. They’re also responsible for ruining the promising archaeology career of Alix Hiboux, better known as Owl.

Needless to say, Owl’s still a little sore about that.

Just to keep Owl’s life lively, the IAA has opened a bounty on the two designers of World Quest, the online RPG that is much, much more than it seems. Owl needs to locate the notorious gaming duo before the other mercenaries do. But finding the gamers won’t be easy since every clue points to them hiding out in the legendary lost city of Shangri-La. Not to mention that the last time Owl and the game designers spoke, their conversation didn’t exactly end on the best note…

Meanwhile, undercurrents of supernatural politics are running amok in Tokyo, dragging Owl and her friends into a deadly game of wits with an opponent who calls himself the Electric Samurai. The cost of losing? All-out civil war between two powerful supernatural factions.

All in all, just another great day on the job.

BOOK DESCRIPTION COURTESY OF AMAZON

I was given a copy of this book by Netgalley for an honest review.

Owl and the Electric Samurai (The Owl Series) is a wild read! I love these characters and the cross between urban fantasy and Indiana Jones. The characters and storyline are very well-developed. Owl is employed by a Dragon in Vegas to find magical artifacts. Owl loves to screw with the IAA (International Archeology Assoctiation) and does everything in her power to do it. She usually uses an RPG game named World Quest to help her located items. The creators of this game have gone missing and is wanted by the IAA. Owl is trying to find them before the IAA. She also is sent to find magical armor the the dragon. All the clues point to it being in Shangri-La. Now she has different paranormals wanting the armor  and the creators of the game. Who will get to them first? I have fell in love with this series!! I also recommend this book and series to everyone. I give OWL AND THE ELECTRIC SAMURAI 5/5 STARS.

Leave a Comment

Filed under BOOKS

SLOUCH WITCH – BLITZ

slouch witch banner

slouch witch cover
Urban Fantasy
Date Published:  June 8, 2017
 photo add-to-goodreads-button_zpsc7b3c634.png
Hard Work Will Pay Off Later. Laziness Pays Off Now.
Let’s get one thing straight – Ivy Wilde is not a heroine. In fact, she’s probably the last witch in the world who you’d call if you needed a magical helping hand. If it were down to Ivy, she’d spend all day every day on her sofa where she could watch TV, munch junk food and talk to her feline familiar to her heart’s content.
However, when a bureaucratic disaster ends up with Ivy as the victim of a case of mistaken identity, she’s yanked very unwillingly into Arcane Branch, the investigative department of the Hallowed Order of Magical Enlightenment. Her problems are quadrupled when a valuable object is stolen right from under the Order’s noses. It doesn’t exactly help that she’s been magically bound to Adeptus Exemptus Raphael Winter. He might have piercing sapphire eyes and a body which a cover model would be proud of but, as far as Ivy’s concerned, he’s a walking advertisement for the joyless perils of too much witch-work. And if he makes her go to the gym again, she’s definitely going to turn him into a frog.
About the Author

After teaching English literature in the UK, Japan and Malaysia, Helen Harper left behind the world of education following the worldwide success of her Blood Destiny series of books. She is a professional member of the Alliance of Independent Authors and writes full time, thanking her lucky stars every day that’s she lucky enough to do so!
Helen has always been a book lover, devouring science fiction and fantasy tales when she was a child growing up in Scotland.
She currently lives in Devon in the UK with far too many cats – not to mention the dragons, fairies, demons, wizards and vampires that seem to keep appearing from nowhere.
Contact Links
Purchase Links
 photo readingaddictionbutton_zps58fd99d6.png

Comments Off on SLOUCH WITCH – BLITZ

Filed under BOOKS

RED WOLF BY JENNIFER ASHLEY – REVIEW

red wolf cover
The New York Times bestselling author of Guardian’s Mate returns to the world of the Shifters and a tale of a new love under fire…

A man is only as strong…

Red wolf Shifter Dimitri has fought his whole life for respect. It is claimed that red wolves are tainted with coyote blood and therefore not pure. He may not be skilled at verbally defending himself, but because he’s a bodyguard, tracker, and champion of the fight clubs, his fists are always ready for some rough and tumble. However, he’d prefer a roll in the hay with the woman who is his oldest friend.

…as the woman who’s got his back…

A spirited leopard Shifter and a fellow tracker, Jaycee Bordeaux has no problem forging a mate bond with Dimitri, but soon the two are called to infiltrate a rogue group bent on enslaving Shifters. Jaycee may have defended Dimitri from taunts before, but they now face a more lethal danger—one that threatens not only the future of their people, but also their love.

Book Description Courtesy of Amazon

I was given a copy of this book by Netgalley for an honest review.

Red Wolf (A Shifters Unbound Novel) is a great addition to this series. The characters and story line are well-developed. Jaycee and Dimitri team up with the Austin shifters to infiltrate a group of shifters who have radical ideas about female shifters. They are to investigate the disappearance of some shifters. This group appears to be working with the Fae. This is bad news for all shifters. This was such a joy to read. Each story in this series just gets better and better. If you have not read this series I urge you to start now. I recommend this book and series to everyone. I give RED WOLF 5/5 STARS.

Comments Off on RED WOLF BY JENNIFER ASHLEY – REVIEW

Filed under BOOKS

BLADE BOUND BY CHLOE NEILL – REVIEW

blade bound cover
The thrilling final installment of Chloe Neill’s New York Times bestselling urban fantasy series sees sinister sorcery advancing across Chicago, and it might usher in the fall of Cadogan House….

Since the night of her brutal attack and unwilling transformation into a vampire, Merit has stood as Sentinel and protector of Chicago’s Cadogan House. She’s saved the Windy City from the forces of darkness time and again with her liege and lover, Ethan Sullivan, by her side.

When the House is infiltrated and Merit is attacked by a vampire who seems to be under the sway of dark magic, Merit and Ethan realize the danger is closer than they could have imagined. As malign sorcery spreads throughout the city, Merit must go to war against supernatural powers beyond her comprehension. It is her last chance to save everything—and everyone—she loves.

BOOK DESCRIPTION COURTESY OF AMAZON

I was given a copy of this book by Netgalley for an honest review.

Blade Bound (Chicagoland Vampires) is an Awesome addition to this series!! The characters and story line are well-developed.  Merit and Ethan are preparing for the wedding, when a threat in the form of sorcery attacks the house. Now they have to and eliminate this threat before the wedding takes place. Sorcha Reed is back and terrorizing Chicago. It is so bad that the humans of Chicago are wanting to give up Merit and Ethan. The Fey, Werewolves and the Vamps are all getting together to get rid of the sorceress. This book tied everything up in a nice neat little bow. This was such a great book to read and I recommend it to everyone. I give BLADE BOUND 5/5 STARS.

Comments Off on BLADE BOUND BY CHLOE NEILL – REVIEW

Filed under BOOKS

UNLEASH -BLITZ

unleash banner

unleash cover

Urban Fantasy
Date Published:  May 5, 2017
 photo add-to-goodreads-button_zpsc7b3c634.png
Craving a gritty, kickass heroine? If you like guns, magic, & heartbreaking drama, you NEED this book!
Orphaned. Hunted. Pissed as hell.
Helena Martin doesn’t know who she hates more, the sorcerers who fired the magic-laced bullet or the gang-lord master who used her mother as a shield. It’s not the price she expected for escaping magical slavery, nor is the unstable power now pulsing in her veins.
Caught between her former master’s hunters and the Guild Sorcerers determined to kill them, she finds a safe haven at a dog rescue willing to take in a different kind of stray. But Helena’s newly-unleashed power is a beacon for her enemies. And they’re threatening the first place she’s ever thought of as home.
Praise for Unleash
 
“A visceral, heart-pounding ride of a book that will keep you guessing until the final bloody breath.” – Award-winning fantasy author Pip Ballantine (The Books of the Order, The Ministry of Peculiar Occurrences)
About the Author

Lauren Harris was raised by an impulsive furniture mover and an itinerant TV News professional in a string of homes up and down the East Coast of the United States. Eventually settling (sort of) in Raleigh, NC, Lauren befriended a band of whimsical nerds who found themselves de-facto beta readers for her scribblings.
After graduating from the University of North Carolina at Greensboro, where she studied English and Classics, Lauren moved to Tokyo, Japan for three years. While there, she studied Japanese, taught English, and fell in love with the hot drink section in the vending machines.
Now, Lauren balances a day-job of Cardiac Ultrasound with her passion for writing and other creative persuits. She is the author of The Millroad Academy Exorcists novella series and an Assistant Editor at Orson Scott Card’s Intergalactic Medicine Show. Her narration and voice acting can be heard on Audible.com, EscapePod, and various short fiction podcasts.
Keep up with Lauren on her podcast, Words of a Feather, or her website, www.laurenbharris.com.
Contact Links
Purchase Links
Reading Addiction Blog Tours

Comments Off on UNLEASH -BLITZ

Filed under BOOK BLITZ, BOOKS